Eastern Province Vacations

The Eastern Province of Sri Lanka faces the Bay of Bengal. Its capital is Trincomalee. The major coastal towns are Trincomalee and Batticaloa and Pasikudah. Near the town of Batticaloa are three major lagoons: Batticaloa Lagoon, Valaichchenai Lagoon and Vakari Lagoon which get their water from the numerous rivers that feed into them. Batticaloa is the longest of the three lagons and extends for 56 km. The region is also home to the minority ethnic population of Sri Lankan Tamils. The Tamils were Indians who were brought to Sri Lanka to work in the numerous plantations in the region. Today, the majority of the people in the region speak Tamil and the region is one of the most ethnic and religiously diverse regions of Sri Lanka.

Eastern Province Vacations: Boutique Hotels and Vacation Rentals

Florida Destinations
Our Florida Destinations