Manchester is also known as the modern county of Greater Manchester and which is located in the North West Region of England. There are ten local authorities that comprise the Greater Manchester Area: Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan. It was not until the Industrial Revolution that Manchester began to gain some fame and fortune. It was during the 18th and 19th centuries when the cloth industry was modernized with the mechnisation of the spinning process by Samuel Crompton in nearby Bolton. The town of Royton was the location of the world's first cotton mill. Frederick Henry Royce and Charles Stewart Rolls began production of the famous Rolls-Royce line in Hulme, Manchester. Engels and Marx visited Manchester to study the effects of the industrial revolution on the working class society. And Manchester was the birthplace of the Trades Union Congress. Today Manchester is a cosmopolitan and modern city with multiple museums and an extensive listing of art galleries. Manchester also has a broad selection of Universities and colleges: The University of Manchester, Manchester Metropolitan University, Royal Northern College of Music, University of Salford, Manchester School of Architecture.

Manchester Vacations: Boutique Hotels and Vacation Rentals

Florida Destinations
Our Florida Destinations