French Caribbean Vacations

The French Caribbean or the French West Indies, as it is more commonly known, consists of several islands in Caribbean region that have ties to mainland France and their culture reflects a mixture of French and Caribbean culture. Within the island group are the individual islands known as Saint Barthélemy, St Martin, Guadeloupe and Martinique. There are additional islands that may have been former French colonies but they are not currently within the control of France as they are considered independent nations. The islands listed here are islands that fall within the government of France. On these islands, French is the official language. The islands of St Barts and St Martin are considered an "Overseas Collectivity". And Guadeloupe is considered an "Overseas Department". It was in 1946 that all the citizens of the "Overseas Collectivity" were given French voting rights.